home | back | Map of Armenia | History & Culture | Links
  Untitled Document

Armenia, officially the Republic of Armenia, is a land­locked mountainous country in the Southern Caucasus (Transcaucasus), bordered by Turkey to the west, Georgia to the north, Azerbaijan to the east, and Iran and the Nakhichevan exclave of Azerbaijan to the south. A former republic of the Soviet Union, Armenia is one of the oldest and most historic nations in the world. It is considered to be the place where Biblical Noah and his descendants first settled, as well as the first nation to adopt Christianity as its offical religion. Although Armenia is constitutionally a secular state, Christianity plays a major role in both its history and the identification of the Armenian people.
Armenia is currently a member of more than 35 different international organizations including the United Nations, the Council of Europe, and the Commonwealth of Independent States. Armeia is divided to 12 administrative regions.

Region: Area: Center town: Population
Shirak 2643 kmsq Gyumri 361400
Lori 3750 kmsq
Vanadzor 392300
Tavush 2695 kmsq
Ijevan 156500
Aragatsotn 2737 kmsq Ashtarak 168100
Kotayk 2038 kmsq
Hrazdan 328900
Gegharkunik 4058 kmsq Gavar 278600
Armavir 1251 kmsq
Armavir 323300
Ararat 1995 kmsq
Artashat 311400
Vayots Dzor 2308 kmsq
Eghegnadzor 69400
Syunik 4475 kmsq Kapan 164000
Yerevan   Yerevan